Sam Burns on wrong end of a questionable ruling
Digest more
Sam Burns, U.S. Open
Digest more
Sam Burns, Adam Scott and Moving Day
Digest more
18h
Golf Digest on MSNU.S. Open 2025: Did Sam Burns get robbed of title shot by a 'temporary water' ruling?Like any savvy patient who gets a bad diagnosis, Sam Burns wanted a second opinion. When his drive on Oakmont’s par-4 15th hole stayed on the fairway next to the first cut, he seemed to catch a good break. But when Burns arrived at the ball, it looked and felt to him that it was sitting in standing water from the day’s earlier heavy rain storm.
Burns was twice denied relief from perceived temporary water on the 15th hole Sunday at Oakmont before double-bogeying the hole and losing the U.S. Open by five shots.
Sam Burns revealed the role that his friend, Scottie Scheffler, has played in his career, including his status as the 54-hole leader of the 2025 U.S. Open.
21h
Golf Digest on MSNU.S. Open 2025: Sam Burns did something very clever that nobody else noticedIt just showed a clever bit of awareness and foresight. In the heat of the pressure and the pouring rain, Burns stopped himself from making a potentially very costly error. It was a small moment, but the kind of decision that wins U.S. Opens.
Moving day at Oakmont Country Club saw Sam Burns take a one stroke lead at the U.S. Open. See how Round 3 went with updates and scores.
Sam Burns lost the U.S. Open lead for good after a controversial ruling denied him a drop in a crucial moment Sunday.